March 16, 2018

Dairy-Free Milk Alternatives for Those with Dairy Allergy

There are various non-dairy milk substitutes for people sensitive to a milk protein. Thus, if you or someone of your family members is following an allergy elimination diet requiring dairy-free eating or has already been diagnosed with a milk allergy or lactose intolerance, you can try some vegan alternatives like soy or rice milk or other ruminant milks. While some of these milk alternatives are better for drinking, others are mostly used in cooking.

Below, we suggest a list of different dairy-free milks. You can try using some of them and see which taste you like the most.

 

Soy Milk

 

Soy milk is probably the most popular, and commonly available non-dairy milk. However, it is not suitable for people with soy allergy. Soy milk is usually found on the shelves with dairy milk, in the vegan food section or in the refrigerated section of major grocery stores and supermarkets. It is also the most affordable among different vegan milks.

Soy milk contains a lot of protein, which means that it’s good for baking and cooking, but because its specific taste, some people don’t like to add soy milk to cereals or sauces.

Tree Nut Milks

 

Tree nut milks, such almond or hazelnut milks, are a great alternative to dairy milk. They contain a lot of healthy fats and Vitamin E. Like soy milk, nut milks are also high in protein, which makes them very useful for baking.

There are many people who prefer nut milks in coffee, nutty cereals or baked goods, rather than soy milk. However, we all have different tastes.

Since tree nuts are one of the most common food allergens, make sure you are not allergic to nuts before consuming a nut milk.

Coconut Milk

 

Coconut milk is not what we normally consider it to be. While a milky liquid substance you see when opening a coconut is called coconut water, coconut milk is a result of pressing the liquid found in coconut “meat”. It is rich in healthy saturated fats and calories.

Coconut milk is completely free of dairy products, soy and nuts, which makes it suitable for people with allergies to these foods. However, it may also cause an allergic reaction in people allergic to coconuts.

Rice Milk

 

Unlike previously mentioned milks, rice milk doesn’t contain any allergens. It is a safe alternative for people with multiple food allergies, as well as for young infants.

Although it is low in protein and its nutritional content is quite poor, it makes a good beverage and is suitable for cereals. The taste of rice milk is quite sweet, and it’s often flavored with vanilla extract. Rice milk has a very watery texture, which is why it can’t be used for cooking.

Hemp Milk

 

Hemp milk is a relatively new milk substitute that is getting more and more popular. Hemp milk has a texture that is waterier than regular milk, but thicker than rice milk.

Although it is not especially high in protein, there is enough protein for use in cooking. For instance, hemp milk is a great dairy-free alternative for various sauces requiring a moderate amount of protein.

Oat Milk

 

Oat milk is another dairy-free alternative to milk and a great source of fiber, vitamins, and minerals. Its protein content is similar to that of hemp milk, which means it can be used in some cooking recipes.

Oat milk has a nutty taste, and it naturally goes well with cereals and other breakfast food products. However, this beverage is not safe for people with gluten sensitivity or celiac disease.

Other Ruminant Milks

 

Ruminant milks such as goat and sheep milks may not be safe for people sensitive to dairy, as they contain proteins similar to those of cow’s milk. This means that people allergic to cow’s milk can also cross-react to other ruminant milks. Therefore, you should check with an allergy specialist before trying such milks.

Besides, these milks are not safe for those with lactose intolerance either, as they all contain lactose.

Share this:
Tags: