March 13, 2018

Which Egg Substitutes Are Safe for Those with an Egg Allergy?

For people who have an egg allergy, there are various alternatives available for baking, or other cooking purposes. It is always important though to check the product label first, as some egg substitutes do contain egg proteins. If exposure to eggs causes you to have allergy symptoms, egg replacer products labeled as vegan or egg-free are your best option.

 

However, you don’t have to use eggs or egg replacers in all recipes. There are many great recipes, including baking recipes, that don’t require eggs at all.

Which Egg Substitutes Contain Egg Protein?

 

You may have seen various low-cholesterol egg substitutes, sold in a dairy section of almost any grocery store. Since they are made from eggs, these products are not safe for people with egg allergy. Commercial egg substitutes containing the allergen include: Bay Valley Foods Second Nature Egg Substitute, Egg Beaters, as well as generic liquid egg substitutes and powdered egg whites.

Are There Egg Allergy-Friendly Alternatives to Eggs?

 

Special egg replacer products often positioned as vegan egg substitutes are free of eggs and safe for allergic people. Normally available in a powdered form, these products can help to replace eggs in baked goods, but they are not meant for omelets or scrambled eggs.

You can find non-allergenic egg replacers from brands like Ener-G, Bob’s Red Mill, or PaneRiso Foods. When buying an egg substitute or replacer, you should always check the information label on the product to ensure that there are no eggs in it.

If you are also allergic to milk, you should use vegan egg replacers, rather than vegetarian, as the latter may contain dairy ingredients. However, apart from dairy products, there are also other common allergens like soy that can be used in egg substitutes.

Which Food Contain Hidden Eggs?

 

It is out of question that you should avoid foods like omelets and quiches, if you have an egg allergy. However, eggs are also often contained in many other everyday food products such as bread and other baked goods, crackers, cereals, noodles, etc. Make sure to check the label for any egg-related ingredients, when buying products of this type. According to the FALCPA (Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act), all packaged foods containing egg that are sold on the territory of the United States must mention this ingredient on the package label.

In addition, eggs can also be indicated in the ingredients list as lecithin, albumin, albumen, globulin, livetin, lysozyme, vitellin, as well as ingredient names staring with “ova/ovo”.

What Are the Symptoms of Egg Allergy?

 

According to experts, allergy to eggs is a second most common food allergy (after milk allergy) that occurs in infants and children.

An allergic reaction to egg protein typically leads to skin rash, eczema or hives; pink eye (allergic conjunctivitis); airway problems like runny nose, coughing or wheezing; nausea, vomiting or diarrhea; and swollen lips, tongue or face (also known as angioedema). Egg allergy may also cause a life-threatening reaction known as anaphylaxis, which involves several organ systems. An anaphylactic reaction required an immediate medical help including a shot of epinephrine (adrenaline) and a follow-up care.

Since there is no cure for egg allergy, people affected by this disorder should avoid all types of eggs and egg-containing food products.

Share this:
Tags: